How to list deleted files in UNIX?

Hi All,

Its an interview question. I just want to know the answer of below question.

1) How to list deleted files in unix

Generally, you can't.

1 Like

thanks... but if we want it from recycle bin then , is there any way.

or recycle bin (such things) are not available in unix??

sorry this may b silly question but I am new to unix

Hello,

in *nix deleted is deleted, no recycle bin like WIN !

Regards

1 Like

Diff from your backup?

hi skrynesaver,

if we don't took an backup in that case I am trying to search an deleted files ...

Hi,

Without a backup there is not really any way to recover or list the deleted files, once you delete files in Unix/Linux recovery is very difficult. I have had some luck with both "photorec" and "testdisk", but the system was not usable for a number of weeks while the recovery was ongoing.

Also I would say to you that if any new files have been created, it is almost certain that there have been a number of "inodes" and "data areas" over written.

Regards

Gull04

1 Like

Hello Priyanka,

Yes, we do not have recycle bin in *NIX. We could use soft deletion(usually backup is the BEST option but in case you doesn't have it). We could redefine rm command for the particular user, by changing it in user's DOT profile(eg--> ~/.bashrc). Following are the steps which we could do for same.
I- Create a script let's say soft_deletion_script.ksh , which will be having following commands in it.

#!/bin/sh
 mv "$@" /path/to/trash/folder

II- Add this into your DOT profile as follows.

alias rm Singh/is/King/move_to_trash.sh

III- To empty your trash periodically, you can configure a cron jobs.
In above code [/path/to/trash/folder/ is the folder where you wanted to keep your delete files.

NOTE: This should be tested into a TEST environment.

Thanks,
R. Singh

Interesting idea Ravinder...