How to learn Solaris?

Dear friends,
I have always been facinated by this operating system and didn't have the chance to get a hand on it. Now I have decided to take it seriously and learn it. What do you guys recommend for me? Books, tutorials, forums like this etc. And which one would be the best, I have dowloaded a few books each having almost 800 pages, would they be helpful?
Thanks

the best way is to start with installing and using it... use a virtuell machine or two... configure network interfaces... and and and...

Hi,
I'm a Solaris Sys Amin. The best way to learn is by doing projects. Are you working on this at home or work? One of the best features of Solaris is ZFS, which is the file system. A good 1st project is to build a file server. If you are installing Solaris on hardware and not in a VM you can also learn zones.

Hi,

I'm also quite new to Sun OS, but I've been working on RHEL/SUSE/CentOS.
Need advice to get going with Sun as well.

Currently, I am struggling to get my net working on my VMware machine and to enable to connectivity from putty to vm. Here's the output of ifconfig:

# ifconfig -a 
lo0: flags=2001000849<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST,IPv4,VIRTUAL> mtu 8232 index 1         inet 127.0.0.1 netmask ff000000 e1000g0: flags=1004843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,DHCP,IPv4> mtu 1500 index 2         inet 192.168.1.4 netmask ffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255         ether 0:c:29:95:b1:5d

Any help/advice is appreciable

you can also use zones in a virtuell environment... which doesn't make any sense but for learning...

Any link ? how do I configure zone ?
Apology for my ignorance :wall:

@shefali.sun

lo0 is the loopback device and not an actual network card. have a look at the output from "dladm show-dev" to find you card. if there is no card, you might need to install a driver for your card!

a good start for solaris is the system documentation:
Oracle Solaris 10 9/10 Release

I do see a card configured when I hit dladm show-dev: