How to add the line to previous line in | delimited text?

Hi All,

I am new to Unix and I have one challenge and below are the details.
I have pipe delimited text file in that data has span into multiple lines instead of single line.
Sample data.
Data should be like below for entire file.

41|216|398555|77|provided complete NP outcome data           constituted

But data in few lines like below.

72|192|402632|580|Completed OHTS Phase 2
, through 
March

I need to keep the data in single line like above and remove the spaces.
I have fixed length number in 3rd column of the data file.
Could you please help me on this to fix this issue.

Thanks,
Narasimha

Hi, please post in the proper forum.

Try:

awk '/[|]/{if(NR>1)print p; $1=$1; p=$0; next}{$1=$1; p=p FS $0} END{if(NR)print p}' file

$1=$1 is used to remove excess spaces

Thanks for your help Scrutinizer,

This command not changing in the file and still for few lines i am seeing the issue.

Thanks,
Narasimha

---------- Post updated at 03:28 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:08 PM ----------

Hi Scrutinizer,

OMG....

what a miracle you did it is working fine I used this command out put to another file like below.

awk '/[|]/{if(NR>1)print p;
 $1=$1; p=$0; next}{$1=$1; p=p FS $0}
 END{if(NR)print p}' test.txt > test_new.txt.

I will use this logic to all my files.

Thanks a Lot.

Thanks,
Narasimha

Hi Scrutinizer,

I have used this command for files and all most all files it works except the files which are ending with | "pipe line".attached screenshot for your reference.
Could you please help me on this.

Thanks,
Narasimha

Hi All,

Can we do like this?

First find the number of | pipe lines in the line, if the number of pipe lines are not correct then the line should be added to the previous line.

I used the below command to find the number of pipes in the line

awk -F "|" ' { print NF-1 } ' test.txt