How to access encrypted hard drive

Hey guys, i need help. I plugged in my external drive on my laptop using USB port, and it prompts me for password, after entering it,i received that message below: which does not make sense because the password is correct.I need to mention that i am new to Linux, so i don't know what to do much. Help would be much appreciated

Screenshot from 2023-11-30 20-29-16

@wolves , welcome.

How was the drive encrypted initially (ie software used, OS the encryption was done using) - be specific !

The message Unable to access ... is not the same as an incorrect password ...

Which OS / release are you using when mounting this ?
Have you tried another OS (windows ....)

As a general rule - we will not entertain any attempts at hacking drives/systems !
accounts are like to be deleted if any requests of this nature are asked (directly or otherwise)!

Thanks for replying. I did the encryption when i was installing pop OS. Every time when i boot my machine, i put the encryption password before my actual password (i hope that makes sense).

As for the OS, initially when i bought my laptop it was Windows, but i quickly switched to Linux/pop OS.

I bought the SSD 3 days ago to replace the HDD ( which is now my external hard drive that is encrypted)

@wolves ,
so , I presume you are talking about the password to unlock the hdd/sdd and not your user account .

• have you previously successfully logged on ?
  • if there's nothing of note on the drive (as you say its ~3day old ... perhaps reformat and do a re-install ....
  • anything changed since last successful login (software/hardware updates) that may be the cause of the issue

which version of popOS is this ?
popOS-release-history

I'm not sure about that last sentence: it sounded to me that the SSD is now installed internally, and you want to restore the data from the HDD, which was previously encrypted and since then has moved to a USB port.