Help with strREReplaceAll + numbers

Hello,

I'm new to java programming and have been thrown into some code at work. I have a file to work with.

The file name used to be just filename.111, but was recently changed to 2013191filename.111. We have a java script that drops the word filename and just leave the ".111". Now I need to drop the "2013191filename". Only problem is, the 2013191 changes, so tomorrow the filename will be 2013192, then 2013193 ect ect....

This is the existing string:

string str_new_FileName = strREReplaceAll(str_FileName, "filename.", "" );

I've tried this:

string str_new_FileName = strREReplaceAll(str_FileName, "20[0-9]\{1,3\}filename.", "" );

But you professionals probably already seen that doesn't work. How do I get this to work?

---------- Post updated at 09:10 PM ---------- Previous update was at 08:19 PM ----------

So in short what I want to do is remove the numbers + filename.

Does this make sense?

strREReplaceAll(str_FileName, "[^0-9filename.]", "" );

---------- Post updated at 10:01 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:10 PM ----------

Or this one?

strREReplaceAll(str_FileName, "[0-9filename.]", "" );

If I understand what you're trying to do correctly, try:

strREReplace(str_FileName, ".*[.]", "" );

Note strREReplace , not strREReplaceAll and note that I haven't tested this and it has been a while since I've written any Java code.

Basically, all I'm looking to do is remove everything up to and including the "." in the filename.

Sample filename = 2013123filename.123
Desired output = 123

---------- Post updated at 11:20 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:15 PM ----------

Yup, I think that did it. Very cool, thanks!

And what did my suggestion do?

The regular expression .*[.] matches any string of characters up to and including a period. Replacing what that RE matches with an empty string should just leave you with the characters following the period in your input string.