Help with Running More than One Program

Folks,

I'm really new to scripting and was wondering if you could help me out. I have the following script that I inherited:

#!/bin/bash
#
# Usage
# From the agent directory:
# ./run-any-agent AgentName
#

TAC_AGENT_HOME=`pwd`
LIB=${TAC_AGENT_HOME}/lib
CLASSPATH=.
CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:${TAC_AGENT_HOME}/bin
for i in $( ls ${LIB}/*.jar ); do
  CLASSPATH=${CLASSPATH}:$i
done

java -server -Xmx1024M -Xms512M -cp $CLASSPATH edu.umich.eecs.tac.aa.agentware.Main -config config/$1.conf

So, when I type in

./run-any-agent MyProgram

it runs "MyProgram". However, since I have many programs that I have to run using this script at the same time, I typically open up many terminals and execute the script on the programs individually. However, this is beginning to be painful. So, I was wondering, if there's any way that I could type in something similar to:

/run-all-agents MyProgram1 MyProgram2 ... MyProgramN

And have them all run at the same time. A nudge in the right direction would be very much appreciated.

Thank you,

DTW

This should do the trick. '$*' holds the positional parameters that you use when calling "run-all-agents". It executes and starts "run-any-agent" in the background.

#!/bin/bash

for agent in $*
do
    ./run-any-agent $agent &   # run in background
done

2pugs,

Thanks for your reply.

So, if I understood this right, you're suggesting that I write another script called "run-all-agents" to execute the "run-any-agent" script - right?

What do you mean by "positional parameters"? So, will I be calling the script like this?

./run-all-agents MyProgram1 MyProgram2 ... MyProgramN

I'll mess with this a little and report back. It might also be nice to read the programs I want to run off a file (rather than "manually" typing them in). Anyway, I'll be back.

Thanks,

DTW

---------- Post updated at 04:01 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:50 PM ----------