Help with creating a text file in perl with file creation date.

Hi,

I am quite new to Perl scripting and i need to create a .TXT file using perl, with fields (A,B,C,D,E), and this text file should be named with current file creation date "XYZ_CCYYMMDD.TXT" (i.e.XYZ_2011042514:33 PM).

Can anyone who has done this, please share their expertise on this one.

Thanks.

Try:

#!/usr/bin/perl
chomp($d=`date +%Y%m%d%H:%M_%p`);
open F,">XYZ_$d.txt";
print F "A,B,C,D,E\n";
1 Like

It seems a common misconception that there's a Specific Way��� to do things in a computer language and you can find all the answers by googling "how do I do X in perl". It really doesn't work that way. You have to break it down into logical steps.

1) Logical step 1. How do I get the time in perl? I guess wildly and try perldoc -f time That returns it in seconds. A start.

2) Logical step 2. How can I convert that into something I can use? Well, the 'time' function documentation suggests the localtime function and perldoc -f localtime suggests the strftime function and the POSIX module and even gives examples. time isn't needed apparently since localtime calls it implicitly unless you give it otherwise. man strftime also tells you what strings strftime needs.

3) Logical step 3. How can I open a string as a filename? The same way you open any other filename. perldoc -f open

So you get

#!/usr/bin/perl

use POSIX;

my $filename=strftime("filename_%y%M%d.TXT", localtime);
print "filename is $filename\n";
open(FILE, ">$filename") || die("Couldn't open file");

print FILE "hello world\n";

close(FILE);
exit(0);

I knew none of this by heart, I just followed the trail of instructions.

1 Like

We have a function in Perl called "Open" which creates a file.

I am trying to create the .TXT file in the specified directory.
I tried concatinating the Directory with the string.

#!/usr/bin/perl

use POSIX;

#Directory where the text file will be created.
$directory =  '/space/data';