Help understanding the script

Hi Guys,

I am new to scripting , I am trying to rebuild a script based on an old script. Can someone help me figure out what the script is doing? This is only a part of the script.

I am looking to interpret these two points in the scripts:-
1)

test=`echo $?`
while [ $test -eq 2 ]

I do not understand when its doing test='echo $?', what is assigned in this step to test

2) command -f $ETC/$LCL_FILE recreate >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1

What I figured out is it's sending stderr and stdout to the log file. Is that what its doing?

Part of the script is as follows:-

function demo {
echo '####' >> $LOG_FILE

echo 'Starting the test:' >> $LOG_FILE
command -f $ETC/$LCL_FILE recreate >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
test=`echo $?`
while [ $test -eq 2 ]
do

echo '. Sleeping ...' >> $LOG_FILE 
sleep $LOOP_SLEEP
test=`echo $?`
done

if [ $test -eq 0 ]
then
echo >> $LOG_FILE
date >> $LOG_FILE
echo 'The recreate was successfully completed for file $LCL_FILE.' >> $LOG_FILE

$? is a special variable, the return code of the last command. The return code is a number, zero for success, anything else for error.

$ true
$ echo $?

$ false
$ echo $?

$

...but they didn't need to use backticks `` (same key as ~) to get it into the variable test. Commands in backticks become strings, so you could do things like LINE=`grep username /etc/passwd` to read a matching line from a file into a variable.

All they had to do though, was test="$?"

Depends what command is, of course. The redirections are sending all its output into the log file, yes.

function demo {
echo '####' >> $LOG_FILE

echo 'Starting the test:' >> $LOG_FILE
test=`echo $?`
while [ $test -eq 2 ]
do

echo '. Sleeping ...' >> $LOG_FILE 
sleep $LOOP_SLEEP
test=`echo $?`
done

if [ $test -eq 0 ]
then
echo >> $LOG_FILE
date >> $LOG_FILE
echo 'The recreate was successfully completed for file $LCL_FILE.' >> $LOG_FILE