Help running a Makefile from within a .sh script?

Hi there! I am a undergraduate student and recently submitted an assignment for my coursework - however there was one function I could not get to work properly before the due date. Although I don't need to complete this work anymore I would still like to in order to know what was going wrong. If this needs to be in the student/homework forum I am sorry! This is my first post so I'm new to the site and unsure.

The problem:
I have a function that is meant to compile any .c files that it finds in the current directory. It allows the user to either use their own Makefile (where the error is) - or use the Makefile within the .sh script which works. The Makefile is created with this function:

# Populate makefile with example code 
populateMFiles () {
echo '    clean:
          rm -rf cfile.c cfile.out
      build: 
          gcc -g -Wall -pedantic -Wextra cfile.c -w -o cfile.out
    all: cfile.c
        clean build'
}

And a .c file that is created with this function:

# Populate .c files with example code so that they can compile 
populateCFiles () {
echo '    #include <stdio.h>
    int main()
    {
           printf("Hello, World!");
           return 0;
    }'
}

Both of these functions are then used to fill two files as shown below:

populateCFiles > cfile.c
populateMFiles > Makefile

Both files are populated with the data correctly. I know the .c file can be compiled as it will do so if I compile it using the terminal. However, whenever I try to use the Makefile from within my bash script it returns the error message "ERROR: Makefile is incorrect - will not compile." which is defined in the method. The method in question is:

#Check repository for .c files
#Compile all .c files within the current directory
compileRepository () {
    tput cup $[$lineCount] 5 ; echo "============================================================"