Help installing WINE and other software

ive installed the open solaris 9 and i have downloaded wine but i dont have a clue how to install it ive unzipd the file but when i click it it just does nothing it opens but its just files im new to solaris i would realy like to know how to install and run programs like vlc player and things any help would be great thanks agin dex

Assuming your are actually running OpenSolaris and not Solaris 9, that would be:

pkg set-authority -P -O http://pkg.opensolaris.org/contrib/ contrib.opensolaris.org
pkg install wine

otherwise, please tell more about what you downloaded.

ive tryd that comand in the terminal but seems not finding the wine program i downloaded it from winehq.com and it downloaded to the downloads folder as a TAR.BZ2 file so i extracted that in the downloads file but thats as far as ive got any help would be great finding this process hard to understand!:confused:

Let's start from the beginning. What OS are you running ?

open solaris 2009.06 edition is the op im using.

---------- Post updated at 09:44 PM ---------- Previous update was at 09:28 PM ----------

you there???

Okay, so please post the output of both of the commands I suggested.

---------- Post updated at 22:48 ---------- Previous update was at 22:48 ----------

A forum isn't instant messaging. Please be patient.

Creating Plan -
pkg: The following pattern(s) did not match any packages in the current catalog.
Try relaxing the pattern, refreshing and/or examining the catalogs:

thats all it says?

Did you add the contrib publisher ?

sorry whats that how do i get that?

I told you in post #2.

ohh yes i did as you said and thats the msg that came up ive installed basiclly every thing that comes in the download manager to get it to run i must be doing some thing wrong could you tell me step by step pls ?

---------- Post updated at 12:58 AM ---------- Previous update was at 12:49 AM ----------