Help for a beginner

Hello Unix Linux Community,

I am new to your community and very happy to be among you, and I am a student. I registered on the forum to learn.

I'm stuck on an exercise and I can't find a solution, I don't want a turnkey solution because I like to understand how things work, so if there is a soul who can give me a clue I I would really appreciate it, thank you very much.

Here are the instructions :

An administrator wants to ensure every morning that all files placed under /tmp/TPRT are readable only by their owner and group members, but not modifiable and not executable.
1- What should be the mode of these files and directories?
2-- Give a command to display the list of paths of files which do not have the correct mode.

Distribution : Debian 12

Thanks.

Welcome on board

As we are here to help you, and not do the work for you, writing "I'm stuck on an exercise and I can't find a solution" is not much of a help for us to understand what you don't...
Normally here, we ask and expect the O/P to show us what he has done so far, and where he is stuck...
As I did teach Unix 25 years ago, I will use another approach, Q1 is dead easy if you understood the question, or I might have not hehehe
you are asked what would look like in terms of permissions, files under /tmp/TPRT that would suit the admin's request.
So I will start by asking you to give me an explanation of UNIX file permissions:
What are they, for who,

-rwxrwxr-x    1 vibe  staff   553 Mar 15  2021 test

What perms does test have, file or directory?

drwxr-xr-x    3 vbe  staff    96 Jun  2  2021 test1

Same question

dr-xrws--x    3 vbe  staff    96 Apr 23  2020 tst1

and again, only what is the difference between this one, and the previous?

For Q2
What commands have you already learned? which are familiar, which you are not?

1 Like

Hello, nice to meet you, many thanks for your approach,
I apologize, I should have expressed myself differently,