Hard Links Help

Ksh newbie here, so please bear with me.

I'm currently writing a script that searches through a directory and displays files with multiple hard links. The way I have it set up, is that it displays the i-node number and then each of the link names. In addition to this, I need to know if there are any hard links outside of the searched directory and if so, how many. Which I'm not completely sure how to do.

find /etc ! -type d -links +1 -ls
718093    8 -rw-r--r--   2 root     root          223 Aug 22  2009 /etc/hosts
718091    8 -rw-r--r--   3 root     root          204 Aug 22  2009 /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
718093    8 -rw-r--r--   2 root     root          223 Aug 22  2009 /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/hosts
718094    8 -rw-r--r--   2 root     root           68 Aug 22  2009 /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/resolv.conf
718091    8 -rw-r--r--   3 root     root          204 Aug 22  2009 /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/ifcfg-eth0
718091    8 -rw-r--r--   3 root     root          204 Aug 22  2009 /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth0
718094    8 -rw-r--r--   2 root     root           68 Aug 22  2009 /etc/resolv.conf

I understand the $4 is the number of hard links, however does that include any links that are found outside of the current directory? If not, then what exactly do I need to do to get a total number of hard links in and out of the current directory?

Also, on a side note what is $2?

The second column is the number of disk blocks required to house the file. Generally the value is 512 byte blocks, though some versions of find might default to 1024 byte blocks.

The fourth column is the number of links, but only if the file is a regular file. If it is a directory it is the number of files contained/referenced in the directory.