hard drive specs?

Does anybody know what command will bring up my harddrive and how much room is left on it?

use command "df".

For more information, man df or df --help

Type the following:

dmesg |grep hd
dmesg |grep sd
dmesg |grep id

This should give you a list of all your hard drives. hd? (? is a letter of the alphabet) will be IDE drives, sd? will be SCSI, and id? may show up if you are on a Proliant box. You may get some other junk as well but you can probably figure it out.

Now, run 'fdisk /dev/hda' or what ever disks you ended up finding. You may want to run a man on fdisk first. It's not the most strait forward tool.

perfect, thanks haha this is actuily alot better than windows. I can see great things in teh future .... lol. This is my first attempt at RH on my own so it's nice to have the help...thnx

shucks haha just as i though, i set the wrong HD ... is there any way to write to my second hard drive...like in windows you have c: d: e: etc... can i do that here? I've only got about 2 gigs left free and i've got another 20 gig sitting doing nothing haha.

When i run the dmesg |grep hd command i get hda and hdb so i'm assuming that it picks up my 2 hard drives.

ide0: BM-DMA at 0x4000-0x4007, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
ide1: BM-DMA at 0x4008-0x400f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA

hda: FUJITSU MPD3084AT, ATA DISK drive
hdb: WDC WD200BB-00CXA0, ATA DISK drive
hdc: LG CD-RW CED-8120B, ATAPI CDROM drive
hdd: LTN483, ATAPI CDROM drive
hda: FUJITSU MPD3084AT, 8063MB w/512kB Cache, CHS=1027/255/63
hdb: WDC WD200BB-00CXA0, 19092MB w/2048kB Cache, CHS=38792/16/63
hda: hda1
hdb: hdb1

But i've got it writing files to the wrong one...i want it to write all my big files that i transfer to hdb1...is there any way i can do this?

[root@linksys /root]# df
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1 8119744 5895872 1811408 77% /