Grep mutiple patterns with 'AND' operator

Hello, I'm trying for days to do a grep without any success. :wall:

I have two patterns being:
1 - Master en Achats
2 - complet

$ find /var/www/mysite/uploads/files/*.doc -exec egrep -l --ignore-case "Master en Achats|complet" {} \;

The problem is that the grep command is done with an 'OR' operator listing files having pattern1 or pattern2.:wall:

I want the grep command to search files having both pattern1 'AND' pattern2 within it.

How should I write the command? :wall:

There is no logical AND in grep.

use:

.... grep "pattern 1" | grep "pattern 2"

Hi thanks for your reply, I'm new to linux and I don't exactly know how to write the syntax.

I've tried:

$ find /var/www/hrmtest/cache/upload/*.doc -exec egrep -l --ignore-case "Master en Achats" {} | egrep -l --ignore-case "complet" {} \;

But it's not working and it's giving me an error.

$ find /var/www/hrmtest/cache/upload/*.doc -exec egrep -l --ignore-case "Master en Achats" {} | egrep -l --ignore-case "complet"

Hello, I've just tried the above command:

$ find /var/www/hrmtest/cache/upload/*.doc -exec egrep -l --ignore-case "Master en Achats" {} | egrep -l --ignore-case "complet"

It's not working, it's saying:

find: Paramètre manquant pour « -exec »

:wall:

just noticied, that you are trying to grep the microsoft word document.

is it unicode ?

http://www.unix.com/shell-programming-scripting/88007-grep-ms-word-document.html

This command is working.

$ find /var/www/mysite/uploads/files/*.doc -exec egrep -l --ignore-case "Master en Achats|complet" {} \;

I'm able to grep the ms word documents having mutiple patterns but I can only do an 'OR' search.

But I want to be able to do a grep with an 'AND' instead of the 'OR' operator to list only those files containing both patterns.

But i don't know how to write the syntax for an 'AND' multiple pattern search.

Please help! :frowning:

Try