Grep echo awk print all output on one line

Hello,

I've been trying to find the answer to this with Google and trying to browse the forums, but I haven't been able to come up with anything. If this has already been answered, please link me to the thread as I can't find it.

I've been asked to write a script that pulls a list of our CPE then have the script dig through the show.version file to pull a specific entry from there and display it all on one line.

This is the code I've come up with, but the display is all wrong. Note: I am no programmer/scripter, this is something new I'm learning for a recent promotion.

for CPE_DEVICE in `ls -d *cpe.domain.net`; do; echo $CPE_DEVICE; grep JUNOS $CPE_DEVICE/show.version | grep boot | awk '{print $5}'; done

My output comes out like this

device1-r0.cpe.domain.net/
[10.4R6.5]
device2-e0.cpe.domain.net/
device3-r0.cpe.domain.net/
[11.4R7.5]

I decided to dissect my code to see where the fault could be. I found that this half works fine in displaying the CPE devices on their own line each

for CPE_DEVICE in `ls -d *cpe.domain.net`; do; echo $CPE_DEVICE;

I'm not sure what I've done wrong in the second half of my code, but my output should look like this

device1-r0.cpe.domain.net/[10.4R6.5]
device2-e0.cpe.domain.net/[11.4R7.5]
device3-r0.cpe.domain.net/[11.4R7.5]

It's not that easy for us to tell what output comes from where. Did you try to stop echo from printing a <newline> char? On some systems (you fail to mention yours), this can be done with the -n option. Or, use printf with an adequate format string.

Please be aware that your entire pipe could probably be replaced by one single awk command.

Programming in ZSH, everything we use is based on FreeBSD.

This line gives me all my CPE in a list just fine.

This half is supposed to pull the version running for each CPE and display that next to the CPE name.

grep JUNOS $CPE_DEVICE/show.version | grep boot | awk '{print $5}'; done