Good C debugger ?

I'm a C newbie using gcc. I wrote a program but a part of it outputs gibberish onto the terminal. Its weird because identical parts of the program work correctly in another program I wrote :confused:. My program uses c99 + some POSIX headers. It compiles with no errors/warnings even though I have included all the flags I could get hold of.

I do not understand how to use -g so can anybody recommend a C debugger (that speaks english, lol)? At this point I am even willing to switch to Windows...

Can anybody at least add other useful flags ?

Have you heard of man gdb ("linux") - The GNU Debugger ?

If you've can, install DDD, which is a graphical frontend to gdb (and a few others). Then, compile your program using

gcc -Wall -ggdb -o programname programname.c

Don't enable any optimization settings, as that will make debugging all the harder. Same goes for inlineing, ...

Start it using

ddd ./progname

, and start debugging.

See also: ddd(1) [linux man page]

Yes, I have heard and used it before with no success. I'm trying to debug a CGI program written in C. It seems to segfault when using getenv. I tried running the program with Firefox and using sleep(30) to make time to attach PID but it still segfaults on this line.

Any ideas ?

char DOCUMENTROOT[128] = "";
strcat(DOCUMENTROOT, getenv("DOCUMENT_ROOT")); // This line is ok, right ? I mean it is far less than 128 chars long.

Do you call any other environmental var C routines?

Are you sure your CGI has permissions to call these routines?

---------- Post updated at 16:15 ---------- Previous update was at 16:12 ----------

Also, I've not programmed in C for a very long time.... so maybe this is a dumb suggestion, sorry:

getenv() returns a pointer to a char.

You defined

char DOCUMENTROOT[128] = "";

Does this work?

char *DOCUMENTROOT[128] = "";

Actually, the problem is using "DOCUMENT_ROOT" because it is apache specific. Using "PATH" works.