Generate files using content from a master text file

Environment: Bash on RHEL 8.9

I have a 'master file' like below with hundreds of lines.
In this file, I have the file names with the syntax file<n>.prm.code. The immediate line below each file name (like file1.prm.code) should
become the content of that file.

$ cat master_file.txt
file1.prm.code
Hello world

file2.prm.code
Hello Universe

file3.prm.code
Some random content for file3

file4.prm.code
Hello galaxy

So, using the above 'master file', is there a way, I can generate files like below ?

$ cat file1.prm.code
Hello world
$
$ cat file2.prm.code
Hello Universe
$
$ cat file3.prm.code
Some random content for file3
$
$ cat file4.prm.code
Hello galaxy
1 Like

Most likely than not.
Where exactly are you stuck?

Always a single line to go to the file? It would not be hard to deal with multiple lines for each output file, terminated by either the first blank line, or the next appropriate filename.

The following relies on a closing empty line (and would take multi-line contents).

#!/bin/bash
# Read a line from stdin (redirected), it is the filename
while read fn
do
  # Read further lines and print to stdout (redirected)
  # until the line is empty
  until
    IFS= read -r line; [ -z "$line" ]
  do
    printf "%s\n" "$line"
  done > "$fn"
  # Simply continue, the next line will be a filename
done < master_file.txt
3 Likes

Please Explain this :

IFS= read -r line; [ -z "$line" ]

and why the first line itself (i.e the name of file to be created) is not added as data to file.

Thanks

You are an angel, MadeInGermany. Thank You !

I was trying some stuff with grep but had no idea how to loop through line by line.
Plus, I didn't think of simple solution of output redirection to generate the files. Very clever.

One more question:
How does [ -z "$line" ] test work with the UNTIL clause ?

[ -z "$line" ]
tests if $line is empty.
The loop repeats until $line is empty.