Gawk / Awk Merge Lines based on Key

Hi Guys,

After windows died on my netbook I installed Lubuntu and discovered Gawk about a month ago. After using Excel for 10+ years I'm amazed how quick and easily Gawk can process data but I'm stuck with a little problem merging data from multiple lines.

I'm an SEO Consultant and provide monthly reports to clients which I'm currently revamping. Essentially I have a csv file similar to

domain.com, Default title | Domain.com
domain.com, domain.com/data/product1.html
domain2.com, domain2.com/contact.html
domain2.com, domain2.com/index.html
domain2.com, domain2.com/products/shoes.html

I'm trying to create a file like

domain.com, page.html, product1.html
domain2.com, contact.html, index.html, shoes.html

Each website will have a different number of pages from 1 to 10.

Anyone have any idea how I could do this with Gawk?

Thanks,

James

gawk -F'[,/]' '{a[$1]=($1 in a)?a[$1] OFS $NF:$NF}END {for (i in a) print i,a}' OFS=, myfile.csv

Same results here

awk -F'[,/]' '{a[$1]=((a[$1])?a[$1]",":X)$NF}END{for(i in a) print i,a}' file
awk -F '[,/]' 'r!=$1{if(p)print p; r=p=$1}{p=p", "$NF}END{print p}' file

This solution will work as expected only if the file is sorted first !

True, or rather not sorted, but the lines that have the same labels in $1 need to be consecutive.

Hmm, you expect the input to be perfect ?
The "user" usually don't know that :wink:

Since the first two replies have already fixed the issue, (in fact I write with similar solution, but not quicker than others), Scrutinizer's code is just another solution, and shorter.

So why not have a try?