FTP in shell script and selecting files for upload

Hi,

Im a newbie with programming and shell scripting. Im running OSX/Mac and Darwin.

I would like to create a shell script that would :

1. Search a Volume and directory (including subdirectories) for a file that :
  • filename ends with �_Highres.pdf� and
  • the file creation date of that file is no older than 2 days
  1. Upload this file to a FTP server.

I managed to figure out the part 2 my self, like this:

#!/bin/sh
USER=userid
PASSWD=userpw
HOST=ftphost
ftp -n $HOST <<SCRIPT
user $USER $PASSWD
binary
put some.file
quit
SCRIPT

But Im stuck at the above �some.file� that matches the �1.� above

I hope someone can give me some hints in the right direction.

Thanks,

Niklas

Using the utility find might help you search for that file.

find /path/to/directory -name "_Highres.pdf" -type f -ctime -2

find : the program to search for files, links and directories

/path/to/directory : location to start the search

-name "_Highres.pdf ": searches for by name

-type f : it has to be a file

-ctime -2 : it has to be less than two days old

Now, that might return one, several or no file meeting those conditions. It all depends of what you have in /path/to/directory. Something to think about when trying to upload.

Aia's suggestion is close, but -name "_Highres.pdf" will only look for files named _Highres.pdf ; not all files with names ending with _Highres.pdf .

Note also that most UNIX filesystems do not have a file creation date timestamp. The

-ctime -2

find primary will limit the results to files whose status has changed in the last two days. If you use

-mtime -2

instead, it will limit the results to files whose contents have changed in the last two days. If you are using a system that has a filesystem that does have file creation date timestamps, the man page for find on your system may list a different primary that can be used to check those file creation timestamps.

Try: