FreeBSD new user login script

I am a beginner programmer and would like to know where to start to modify the login process so that a user can login as username new password new and have it prompt user for username and password and nothing else and then create said user account on the system so they can ssh back in and login with the newly created account. A friend had accomplished this in perl but that was many moons and several versions of perl ago. Security is at the front of this project idea as this will be part of a free shell project aimed towards hackers.

Any shoves in the right direction would be welcomed.

This migh be a good start, but you probably want to research what login does (eg running /etc/profile and the like).

#!/bin/bash
trap 'exit 0' 1 2 3 15
printf "Username: "
read touser
trap - 1 2 3 15
if [ "$touser" = "new" ]
then
    echo "Create a new user account here"
else
    exec su - $touser
fi

The create of user account stuff is usually pretty system specific but you should aim at using system tools (eg adduser).

It dosn't seem like security is of a major concern here, but you should test well to ensure the user can't break out into a root shell from the createuser part of the script (for example using CTRL-C at a prompt).

1 Like

I'm hoping you mean 'hacker' in the good sense. I know, I know -- corruption of a perfectly good term, but that's something beyond our control.

If you don't have sudo installed, install it, you'll need it.

What shells do you have available?

The process I'd envision is
1) User logs into the 'new' account. Instead of running a shell, their account is configured(via usermod) to run a shell script as its login shell like this:

while [ -z "$NEWUSER" ]
do
        printf "New username: " >&2
        read NEWUSER || exit 1
        if ! echo "$NEWUSER" | grep "^[a-z_][a-z0-9_-]*$" > /dev/null
        then
                echo "Usernames must be a-z_-" >&2
                NEWUSER=""
                continue
        fi