For loop error

Hi,

I am new to shell scripting and trying three for loops to filter the data. So my data is like

INPUT
cat /tmp/filename.txt

name service machine number of service
sh1 service1 machine1 3
sh3 proces2 machine5 5
sh16 service15 machine24 1
sh1 service1 machine4 3
sh16 service15 machine1 1
sh1 service15 machine2 1

and I want to get it to print as

OUTPUT

service1      |    service16

name 1-2-3-4-5-6 | 1-2-3-4-5-6
----------------------------------------
sh1 0-0-2-0-0-0 , 1-0-0-0-0-0
sh16 0-0-0-0-0-0, 2-0-0-0-0-0

for this I wrote a script like

cat /tmp/filename.txt | awk '{print $1}' | sort | uniq > /tmp/uniqlist.txt
for i in `cat /tmp/uniqlist.txt`

do
for j in "service1" "service15"
do
for k in {1..6}
do
test_[$i]_[$j]_[$k] =cat /tmp/filename.txt | grep $i | grep $j | grep $k | wc -l
echo test_[$i]_[$j]_[$k] >> /tmp/output.txt
done
done
done

It's printing the value on screen but saying test_[sh1]_[service1]_[1]=0 : command not found and the outfile is totally empty.

Difficult ... where to start?
Well, this is what (including some inconsistencies) I get from your code snippet after having eliminated the gravest syntax problems:

$ cat /tmp/output.txt
test_[name]_[service1]_[1]
test_[name]_[service15]_[6]
test_[sh1]_[service1]_[1]
test_[sh1]_[service1]_[6]
test_[sh1]_[service15]_[1]
test_[sh1]_[service15]_[6]
test_[sh16]_[service1]_[1]

The largest problem seems to be the test_[$i]_[$j]_[$k] =cat /tmp/filename.txt | grep $i | grep $j | grep $k | wc -l :

• that ...[...]...[...]... is not a construct known to me, at least in the most commen shells. BTW, what's your shell? You forgot to mention...
  • (common) shells don't like a space around the = . That's the reason for your error msg.
  • the cat ... pipe needs to be run in a "command substitution" $(...) (c.f. man bash or your shell's man page)

You seem to have missed the "expansion" of the variable in the echo statement.