Finding Strings between 2 characters in a file

Hi All,

Assuming i have got a file test.dat which has contains as follows:

Unix = abc def fgt jug
            111 2222 3333

Linux = gggg pppp qqq

C# = ccc ffff llll

I would like to traverse through the file, get the 1st occurance of "=" and then need to get the sting contained with in 1st occurance of "=" and 2nd occurance of "=", so that i can validate the string.
Now the same logic has to continue for string contained between 2nd occurance of "=" and 3rd occurance of "=". Could you please let me know if it is possible. Please note that my file may contain any number of "=",so the logic has to be generic. Since I am new to Unix, it would be great if u can guide about the complete code.

What would be the desired output for this sample data?

Thanks a ton for the reply. Basically i want to have a shell script, which would read the file and do some validations, eg in below example if

Unix = abc def fgt jug
111 2222 3333

Linux = gggg pppp qqq

if i get string between occurances of "=" , it would be (

abc def fgt jug
111 2222 3333

). Now since they follow the word Unix=, i want to put a validation so that all these words should have an extension of .sh...similarly for other types...i hope i am clear

Your requirement is still not clear.

By the way in your previous thread we provided you an approach to read string separated by =

So what have you tried so far to solve your current requirement? If you are stuck at some point, then give us the details.

Please use code tags as required by forum rules!

Your requirement is inconsistent with your desired output. The first string between occurrences of "=" is

abc def fgt jug
             111 2222 3333

Linux

On top of bipinajith's reasonable questions, pls post a consistent request.

Try this awk script...

awk -F"[=]" 'BEGIN{RS=""} {print $2}' test.dat