Find *.tar files under all subdirectories

Hi there,

I'm new to shell scripting...
I've a situation like to find *.tar files under all subdirectories in "/home/abcd" and i used the below,

find /opt/lhapp ! -name "temp" | more

the above works fine.. Now don't need search few direcotries like "/home/abcd/aaaa", "/home/abcd/bbbb", "/home/abcd/cccc". So i need to exclude these directories. How??? any ideas???

Thanks in advance!
Vasanth.

Please search the forum, this question has been asked and answered for many times.

I tried with the post using "-path" option but I'm using AIX and it says -path is not supported. Any other way???

find  /home -type d \( -name aaaa -o -name bbbb -o -name cccc \)  \
  -prune -o -name '*.tar' -print

use the -prune option
you can also have look at -depth option

Hi Radoulov,

I tried with below,

find  /home -type d \( -name aaaa -o -name bbbb -o -name cccc \)  \  -prune -o -name '*.tar' -print 

But getting missing conjunction error:confused:

can you correct me ?

The third backslash in my post is used to escape a newline.
If you don't have embedded newlines, remove it:

find  /home -type d \( -name aaaa -o -name bbbb -o -name cccc \)  -prune -o -name '*.tar' -print 

Thanks Radoulov,

It works fine.. If i give only the directory.. for examaple here "abcd". But my situation is like "/abc/defh/abcd" means i just wanted to eliminate this complete path not all the abcd directory.

I tried giving the complete path but its not excluding ""/abc/defh/abcd" directory.

find  /home -type d \( -name /abc/defh/abcd -o -name bbbb -o -name cccc \) -prune -o -name '*.tar' -print

I tried with single & double qoutes as well its not working.
Any option i can exclude entire path ?

I don't understand what you mean,
could you give an example of the desired output?

Hi,