Extract columns from a file if the name dont exist put blank

Hi,

I am very new to Unix script. Suppose i have a file with column header:
NAME1 NAME2 Address Tel

And I always need to make a file with column header:
ID NAME1 NAME2 EMail Address Tel

For the columns that do not exist in the file, I would still like to make a column with blank.

How do I do this in UNix script?

Assuming you are using TAB as field separator:

awk -F"\t" -vOFS="\t" '{$6=$4;$5=$3;$4=(NR==1)?"EMail":"";$3=$2;$2=$1;$1=(NR==1)?"ID":""}1' file

Since you haven't mentioned, I will assume that it's a fixed-format file -

$
$
$ cat f0
NAME1     NAME2     ADDRESS   TEL
name001   name002   addr001   tel001
name011   name022   addr011   tel011
name111   name222   addr111   tel111
$
$
$ awk 'NR==1{printf("%-10s%-10s%-10s%-10s%-10s%-s\n","ID",$1,$2,"EMAIL",$3,$4)}
       NR>1 {printf("%-10s%-10s%-10s%-10s%-10s%-s\n"," ",$1,$2," ",$3,$4)}
      ' f0
ID        NAME1     NAME2     EMAIL     ADDRESS   TEL
          name001   name002             addr001   tel001
          name011   name022             addr011   tel011
          name111   name222             addr111   tel111
$
$
$

tyler_durden

If the fields are separated by spaces:

awk 'NR==1{$1="ID" FS $1; $3=$3 FS "EMail"}{$1=FS $1; $3=$3 FS}1' file

This is what I have got so far.

abc.txt:
NAME1 NAME2 ADDRESS TEL
A B ADD 1234

awk -F"\t" '
NR==1{
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/ID/)f[n]=i
n++
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/NAME1/)f[n]=i
n++
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/NAME2/)f[n]=i
n++
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/EMAIL/)f[n]=i
n++
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/ADDRESS/)f[n]=i
n++
for(i=1;i<=NF;i++)
if($i~/TEL/)f[n]=i
n++
}
{
if (NR==1)
print "ID NAME1 NAME2 EMAIL ADDRESS TEL"; 
}
{
if (NR > 1) {
for(i=0;i<n;i++)
printf"%s%s",i?" ":"",$f;
print""
}
}
' abc.txt

But I keep getting the error "Field is not correct"