Exec command - what is it doing here?

Hi all,
Forgive me for asking for help with my first post, but I am struggling here. I've been asked to translate a bash script into a Windows script (probably batch or powershell, not sure yet), so the first step is obviously understand what the bash script is doing. But I have no experience in bash, very little in unix/linux, and no unix box to practice on.
I can't figure out the following code:

hmdir=/home/CBG_VCC_POD/NEVIS/PROD/
timestamp=to_cbg_`date +%y%m%d_%H%M%S`

exec 1>"$hmdir"log/to_cbg_log/${timestamp}.log 2>"$hmdir"log/to_cbg_log/${timestamp}.err

if [ ! -d "$hmdir"Inbound ]; then
	echo "Inbound directory not found!!!" >> "$hmdir"log/to_cbg_log/${timestamp}.err
	echo "Exits..." >> "$hmdir"log/to_cbg_log/${timestamp}.err
	cp "$hmdir"log/to_cbg_log/${timestamp}.err "$hmdir"to_cbg/${timestamp}.err
	exit 1
fi

The first two lines obviously setup variables. Following the exec line, the script continues with various if loops to create folders and copy and zip files. So what is the exec line doing?

From what I read, exec starts a new process, executes the passed parameter and then exits, but in this case there is no passed parameter as far as I can tell, and the script does continue after this line.

A colleague postulated that it is setting the output for the following lines in this script to go to the log file in case of a command returning "1" and to an err file in the case of a command returning "2", or something like that. Can anyone clarify?

Many thanks in advance.
Nick

EXEC is used for below purpose

If command is supplied, it replaces the shell without creating a new process. If no command is specified, redirections may be used to affect the current shell environment.

If there are no redirection errors, the return status is zero; otherwise the return status is non-zero.

Hope it would help you to understand why they used exec in the script :slight_smile: