Efficient logging of time measurements

Hi all,

I am working on a software, which was developed using C programming on unix environment. I have added certain functionality to the software.

Now, I interested in measuring time taken by new functionality (Mean value of huge amount of tests). Since new function will be part of many threads and will be running simultaneously.

I am looking for a efficient logging mechanism to log time duration for each execution, that will not reduce the performance.

I hope appending to a log file creates bottleneck.

FYI. This software is real time one and will be running for many weeks.

Thanks in advance,

Tamil

First of all I'd like to state that I'm a not an expert in C.
I use in C++ the boost::timer library which is an excellent one to do those calculations.

If you don't want to add dependencies to your project you can do the following:
when the function that you want to calculate time starts start a thread that will count time : see man 3 usleep or man 3 sleep or man 3 nanosleep.
This thread sleeps a number of time which increase every n time unit.
This thread stops counting when the other function finish the procedure and change a boolean value to true.
I think the above solution will not be really efficient but it can work.

Experts in C should have a better answer to this question.

Thanks Venam,

I feel creating a new thread for each thread in focus, would be a bad idea. I am thinking of using time() system call to measure time differences. There should not be any race conditions among the threads, in calling time().

However, once measurement is taken, there is a race condition when multiple threads trying to log. Using semaphore will in turn will create bottleneck.

I am not familiar with syslog(). Can that be useful here?

/Tamil

I didn't get your point about the bottleneck.
In the world of threads there is something called mutex.
paulbridger.com/mutexes
You can also check timer_create() .