Downloading hdfs file to local UNIX through UNIX script

Hi All ,
I am very new to unix script.I am aware of unix commands but never put together in unix script level.If any one can suggest me technical guidance in the below scenario that will highly beneficial.

Data have been already migrated from mainframe to Hadoop file system(HDFS).HDFS server is hosted on a unix box.HDFS file is just .txt file.We are currently downloading HDFS to local unix file system by HDFS command and then adding sequence number to the local unix file.We just want to automate this process for any file.

Currently we are using below steps :

1. Downlading HDFS file to local unix system by below command :
    text Hdfs dfs -copyToLocal (HDFS file path) (Local directory path)
  2. Adding sequnce generated No :
    text awk '{printf "%06d,",NR} 1' File.txt >File_Output.txt

We need to automate the above process through unix script for any user provided input file .If anyone can provide me technical approach/block of code to automate the above scenario that will be real help.Thanks in advance !

---------- Post updated at 08:24 AM ---------- Previous update was at 03:52 AM ----------

Hi All ,
I have written the below script which is working for a single file.I have hardcoded the hdfs path in the script itself.And the script is creating pipe dilimited sequence generated o/p file in the local directory.We just need to modify this script for any user provided input file.Can anyone suggest me how to automate this script for any user provided input file which should not be hardcoded in the script.Any help in this regard will be highly appreciated.Thanks.

#! /bin/bash
#Downloading HDFS file to Local Unix & Reformatting

hdfs dfs -copyToLocal /user/target/file.txt .

awk '{printf "%06d|",NR} 1' file.txt >output.txt

What exactly would they be inputting?