Do I need an Array for this?

Hi all,

I am trying to create a script that will read directories over 180 days so I can tar them and back them up. I am stuck on this part.

FIND_OLD_DIR='find . -type d -mtime +180' 
DEL_DIRECTORIES="expr substr $FIND_OLD_DIR 3 8"
$DEL_DIRECTORIES

When I run this I get "expr: syntax error"

If i replace
FIND_OLD_DIR='find . -type d -mtime +180' with
FIND_OLD_DIR='WELCOME'

then it works and displays "LCOM"

I am assuming it is because FIND_OLD_DIR is holding multiple values from my multiple directories.

My question is how do I make this work. Do I need an array? Do I write it out to a file and then read the file back in one at a time? What is the easiest way. I am new to shell scripting.

Thanks in advanced

Ralph

FIND_OLD_DIR is holding the literal string "find . -type d -mtime +180". You used single quotes, not backticks.

You don't need backticks or eval, though. Which is good because
1) Backticks can only hold a limited number of results
2) Eval is dangerous. If someone had a file named `rm -Rf ~/*` they'd have a real rotten day.

You also want find to stop when it matches a dir and match no deeper, otherwise it may find more folders inside the folder.

# find .         Search inside .
# '!' -name '.'  ...for things not named .
# -type d        ...which are directories
# -mtime +180    ...that are 180+ days old
# -prune         ...and if they match all the above, don't search deeper
find . '!' -name '.' -type d -mtime +180 -prune |
# "echo a b c d | xargs touch" is equivalent to "touch 'a' 'b' 'c' 'd'".
# The -I{} forces xargs consider each line as one and only one argument.
        xargs -I{} tar -cf - > file.tar

If you find thousands and thousands of directories, tar might be run more than once because there'd be too many filenames to fit in one call to tar. Hunting for folders instead of files should definitely reduce the number of things that need to be fed into tar, though.