Disk Failure

I am new to being a Unix admin and have a question about replacing some hardware. I have a K class box using HP-UX 10.20 with three disks. Two of the drives are in one logical volume. Every 3 or 4 days, the syslog is showing that one of these drives is experiencing "POWERFAILED" and then recovering a few seconds or minutes later. My manager feels that the drive should be replaced.

From reading the documentation, it seems to me that I can shutdown, replace the one drive that is failing, and then restore the whole logical volume. Do I need to re-create the logical volume before doing a restore? Are there any other steps I need to take when replacing only 1 drive when the volume group and logical volume encompasses 2 drives?

Thank you in advance for any help.

;

Hi,
Follow this:
1.- First of all you should backup your VG and the structure (vgcfgbackup).
2.- Test your disk with diskinfo /dev/rdsk/cXtXdX and dd if=/dev/dsk/cXtXdX of=dev/null and ioscan -fnCdisk (if it is not answering then it is definitely failed)
3.- Shutdown your system
4.- Replace the disk
5.- Boot to single user
6.- Execute vgcfgrestore /dev/vgXX /dev/dsk/cXtXdX
7.- Activate the VG
8.- Probably, if you had information spread all along the disks you should restore the data.

I hope it helps.

Cristian.

Post the exact text of the error message. I would not immediately suspect a bad drive although it is possible. Does your manager have a good reason for suspecting a bad drive? A bad drive should be diagnosed from the hardware logs. Use the script command to record your session. Then as root, use the command: "cstm". From the cstm prompt, type "runutil logtool". Do a "sl" and pay attention to the output. It will tell you what the current log was renamed to. Type "sr", and when prompted, type in the name of that log. You will get a summary of the errors. Type "fr" to format the raw log. Now type "fl" to finally view the log.