Delete duplicate lines... with a twist!

Hi, I'm sorry I'm no coder so I came here, counting on your free time and good will to beg for spoonfeeding some good code. I'll try to be quick and concise!

Got file with 50k lines like this:

"Heh, heh. Those darn ninjas. They're _____."*wacky
The "canebrake", "timber" & "pygmy" are types of what?*rattlesnakes
Science : The second space shuttle was named ------*challenger

Problem is that somewhere (anywhere) in file may appear a similar line (but usually not exactly the same), which needs to be recognized as duplicate and deleted!

My example - of what could be found and should be recognized (and deleted) as duplicate:

the 'canebrake', 'timber' & 'pygmy' are types of what*rattleSNAKES
SCIENCE::: the;second;space;shuttle;was;named ??????*challenger

So I guess algorithm should basically do this:

1. from each line read only letters [a-z], [A-Z] and numbers [0-9] and disregard any possible spacing or special characters or punctuation

2. compare with every other line (in same manner a-Z, 0-9) and if same arrangement of letters and numbers is found (ignoring spacing, case, special chars...) delete one of the lines (doesn't matter which one)

Scripting language doesn't matter... perl, python, ruby, vi, awk, sed... anything goes =) (using archlinux box)

Much appreaciated!

awk '{s=tolower($0);gsub("[^a-z]","",s);x=$0} END {for(i in x) print x}' file
1 Like

Thanks, it worked.

But slight observation: I had some 200 lines in file that would differentiate only by numbers and this code would (incorrectly) count them as duplicate.

Not sure what you mean...can you post a sample of how that input file looks like...

$
$ cat f42
the quick brown 123 fox jumps over the lazy ?@! dog
the 456 quick brown fox jumps over the ~*%# lazy dog
123 the quick brown @%#$!^ fox jumps over the lazy ~()& dog
$
$
$
$ perl -lne '$h=$_; s/[^\w]|_//g; tr/A-Z/a-z/; s/(.)(?=.*?\1)//g;
             $_=join "",sort split "";