Delete character on specific position

Hi, im still new in unix.

i want to ask how to delete character on specific position in line, lets say i want to remove 5 character from position 1000, so characters from position 1000-1005 will be deleted.

i found this sed command can delete 4 characters from position 10, but i dont know if bigger position or more characters to be delete is needed.

sed 's/\(..........\)    /\1/'

btw i'm using HP-UX

thanks

Similar questions have already been asked and answered here. Right at the bottom on this thread you'll find these threads.

Check Delete character in determinate position with sed/awk and Using sed to replace specific character and specific position

Let us know if you could adjust it for your requirement or if you need further help :b:

1 Like

If you are using bash, there is no need to call any external tools to perform this. You can use parameter expansion alone as per below:

# Example line variable
line="this is an example line of text"

# Now lets delete 8 characters after the 10th character (deleting the word example)
echo ${line/${line:10:8}}
1 Like

hi thanks for the replies,

i find this will work (im not at hp-ux environment at the moment, so i try on ubuntu server)

sed "s/\(.\{4031\}\)......./\1 $filename > $output
or 
cut -c -4032,4039- $filename > $output

what if file contain more than 2 millions line is still fine if i do above command ?

You're on the right track. The file size or amount of lines should not matter, imho.

The sed command you mentioned will not work. Here's a fix:

sed "s/\(.\{4031\}\)......./\1/" $filename > $output

Following is even better, just in case, because it means read the first 4031 characters explicitly from the beginning of the line:

sed "s/^\(.\{4031\}\)......./\1/" $filename > $output

Note that the cut command you've posted will delete only 6 characters. To act same as the above sed command it should be:

cut -c -4031,4039- $filename > $output