Daemon not executing shell file

Hey guys,

I'm rather new to scripting with the shell (I started on Wednesday) and encountered a problem that left me clueless.

I moved to an old house recently and the sound of the 433mhz door bell is too quiet. Since I always wanted to start playing around with a raspberry pi and my wife allowed me to get a new toy, I got one.
Now the pi receives the signal from the door bell's sender and activates several wireless sockets around the house, making it impossible to not notice that someone is at the door.

My first script was in php, but the infinity loop waiting for the signal took too much ressources and I wanted to optimize it - so I made some shell scripts.
I made the php script a daemon, because I restart the pi sometimes and didn't want to forget starting the 'bell expander'. That worked well.
Now I made my shell script a daemon and that works not so well. It starts, idles at low cpu load and waits for signals. It receives them, logs the time and such but does not execute the script that controls the wireless sockets. And I have no clue why.

Please have mercy with my script... :slight_smile:

First script, started as a daemon, listens for incoming signals, logs some stuff and triggers the second script (well, at least it should...)
/home/pi/tuerklingel_ueberwachung:

#!/bin/bash
TRIGGERED=0
NOW=`date +"%d.%m.%Y, %R:%S"`
RING=0

echo "$NOW Uhr          Starte �berwachung nach Reboot" >> /home/pi/tuerklingel.log

exec 3<>/dev/tcp/localhost/5000

printf '{"action":"identify","options":{"receiver":1},"uuid":"0000-00-00-70-161865"}'>&3

read -r RETURN <&3
if [ "${RETURN}" = '{"status":"success"}' ]
then
        echo "$NOW Uhr          Prozess erfolgreich gestartet" >> /home/pi/tuerklingel.log
else
        echo "$NOW Uhr          Prozess nicht gestartet, es ist ein Fehler aufgetreten" >> /home/pi/tuerklingel.log
        return 0
fi

while true
do
        read -u 3 -r RETURN
        unit=$(echo $RETURN | jq -r '.message.unit')