Cut command: can't make it cut fields

I'm a complete beginner in UNIX (and not a computer science student either), just undergoing a tutoring course. Trying to replicate the instructions on my own I directed output of the ls listing command (lists all files of my home directory ) to My_dir.tsv file (see the screenshot) to make use of cut command so to have columns 1,3,4,9 cut (e.g. "left").

However when I'm trying to execute the command

cut -f 1,3,4,9 My_dir.tsv

nothing happens. I guess it's because the file isn't formatted properly with regard to implementing tabbed spaces. I imagined that automatic formatting, with the deployment of columns I see in output, emerging along with the result of ls is a .tsv file by default but I was wrong.

What should I do to make it work as intended? How do I make a real .tsv file of ls output?

My OS is OS X (Lion).

Hello scrutinizerix,

Could you please confirm it is not a homework, as we do have a special section/forum for homework/projects here. In case it is not homework, could you please let us know clearly what is your requirement because it is not clear in your post, please post your requirement with sample Input_file and expected output. So that we could help you out easily.

Thanks,
R. Singh

My_dir.tsv is empty!?

There are at least three ways to do this, but none of them work perfectly (depending on the number of files present and the collective lengths of their names, whether or not any of the filenames contain space or tab characters, and whether or not any of the filenames contain newline characters).

Note also that the ls utility goes to a lot of work to line up output fields while producing minimal line lengths. Converting the ls -l output to use a single tab as a field separator for all fields is likely to produce wider line lengths on display devices, and, depending on the variability of user and group name lengths, unaligned group and filename output fields.