Creating a simple ID Script

Hello everybody,

:wall:I am new to Linux and I want to create a simple script on Ubuntu that will allow to make database with a few perimeters.

create file and name it Database and complete it with any information

id     firstname     lastname     phone

:wall:command to extract Id and insert it in new file "file1"
:wall:command to extract lastname and insert it in new file "file2"
:wall:command to extract phone and insert it in new file "file3"

:wall:command to combine "file1", "file2" and "file3" in a new file and name it "file4"

Any suggestions will be kindly helpful.:slight_smile:

And what are your attempts at solving this? :slight_smile:

To start with, you'll need to learn the following:

1. How to read lines from a file. Read about file handling using while loop. There are crude versions using for loop. While "for" is efficient for file reading in python, it's bad in shell scripts. Learn why it is so.
  2. In while loop, learn how to read lines as fields. What does IFS mean? What's the default value in IFS? What do you need to set it as?
  3. How to write contents to a file. Hint: echo

Let us know what you could come up with.

Is this a homework assignment? Homework and coursework questions can only be posted in the Homework & Coursework Forum under special homework rules.

Please review the rules, which you agreed to when you registered, if you have not already done so.

If you did post homework in the main forums, please review the guidelines for posting homework and repost. Otherwise, please explain how this database will be used.

Its not an hw assignment, more of just preparing for a class next quarter. I been trying to get a head start on some the things that might be required.

I will post in the HW section next time. Sorry about that. :slight_smile:

---------- Post updated at 11:59 AM ---------- Previous update was at 11:56 AM ----------