Creating a menu within a script file

I am very new to Unix and know the basic commands. I have to write a script file and I'm completely lost. The script file is to show the following at the beginning:

Menu of Options

1. Display all files in a user's home directory.
  2. Welcome yourself to the program.
  3. Display System Information
  4. Exit back to Windows

I have been able to get this to display by use of the echo command. Beyond that, I have no idea what to do. I have search endlessly online for a way to create a menu in Unix and this is all I have to show for it. I also need a line that says "Please enter your choice." Once the user enters a choice, I have no idea how to write the various commands to perform what needs to be done.

Options 3 and 4 seem straightforward if I could get started. However, in option 1 the following criteria have to be met:

1. Display all files in a user's home directory. This should allow the user to look at any user's home directory, provided they enter the correct user name.
  2. Put in a safeguard that if the user does not enter a name, that the current user's home directories display.

I have no idea how to work with Option 2.

I'd greatly appreciate it if anyone would please help me with this. Thank you.

have a look at this

#!/bin/ksh
print "Select a terminal type"
cat << ENDINPUT
sun
ansi
wyse50
ENDINPUT
print -n "Which would you prefer? "
read termchoice

# this kind of code will let you display a menu and get input.
# and then use a case statmet to do each menu item selected.

case $termchoice
sun)
print "do stuff for a sun terminal"
;;
ansi)
print "do other stuff for a ansi terminal"
;;
wyse50)
print "do stuff for a wyse terminal"
;;
*)
print "Invalid option, Please try again. Use �1�-�3�"
;;
esac

Robs,