Copying Multiple Files into a Subdirectory

Hello,

I'm very new to scripting languages and I'm to use shell script to write a utility to backup files with a specific extension into a subdirectory.

Here is what I have done.

#!/bin/bash

read -p "Enter file(s) extension: " FILE

if [ -e *.$FILE ]; then
         mkdir `whoami`.$FILE #To create a directory with the name of the current user and the extension of the file
         cp *.$FILE `whoami`.$FILE #Gives me error when I have multiple files of same type in my directory
elif [ -d `whoami`.$FILE ]; then
         echo "The directory already exits." #It should check to see whenever there is an existing directory or not but instead it gives me an error ": binary operator expected"
elif [ ! -e *.$FILE ]; then
         echo "Extension does not match"
fi

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thank you

#!/bin/bash

USER=$( whoami )
read -p "Extension : " EXT
DIR=${USER}${EXT}

log()
{
        errno=${1}; msg=${2}
        if [ ${errno} -eq 999 ]; then
                echo "INFO : ${msg}"
        elif [ ${errno} -ne 0 ]; then
                echo -e "ERROR : ${msg}\nExiting..."
                exit 1  
        fi
}

ls *.${EXT} >/dev/null 2>&1
log ${?} "No valid files with extension : ${EXT}"

if [ ! -d ${DIR} ];then
        log 999 "Creating ${DIR}..."
        mkdir -p ${DIR} >/dev/null 2>&1
        log ${?} "Could not create ${DIR}!"
else
        log 999 "${DIR} already exists..."
fi

log 999 "Copying *.${EXT} to ${DIR}..."
cp -f *.${EXT} ${DIR} >/dev/null 2>&1
log ${?} "Copy failed!"

HTH
--ahamed

1 Like

@alphanoob: There's a hanging double quote in the last elif condition. [ ! -e *.$FILE"] . This will throw an error.

Apart from this, the script will display a message cp: omitting directory `user.dat' when it tries to copy folder `whoami`.$FILE to itself.

By the way, what exactly is your question?

Hello,