Connecting to Oracle DB using sqlplus

Hi,

I am very new to shell scripting and trying to write a simple shell script in which i am trying to achieve the following:

1. Connect to oracle database hosted on a different server
  2. fire a query on the oracle db
  3. store the output in a variable
  4. use this variable for further logic

The code that i have written so far is as follows:

#!/bin/bash

#Connect to the database using sqlplus

sqlplus 'DBUSER/dbuser@(DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS_LIST=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=10.5.199.106)(PORT=1521)))(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVICE_NAME=PHYGD1)))' >> outputlogfile.log

# Fire the query on database

DCOFCVALUE=select sync_cmpl
from table(dbdev.db_inv_dtl_hdr)
where dc_id ='30'
and to_char(sync_req_dttm,'YYYYMMDD')= '20100331';

ENDSQL

# Check if DCOFCVALUE  was succesful or not
if [ $DCOFCVALUE = Y ]
then
    echo "DCOFCVALUE  Succesfull\n"
  exit 2
else
  if [ $DCOFCVALUE = N]
  then
     echo "DCOFCVALUE  Unsuccesfull\n"
  exit 3
  fi
fi

exit 0

Now the error message i am getting is as follows:

line 29: sync_cmpl: command not found
.line 30: syntax error near unexpected token `('
line 30: `from table(dbdev.db_inv_dtl_hdr)'

Could someone please guide where am I going wrong? And what is the correct way to write such a code.

Your help is highly appreciated!

Regards,
Shruti

Unfortunately you are so far adrift that it is hard to guess what you are trying to achive. There are multiple significant errors both the Unix shell syntax and the Oracle command syntax.

The sqlplus line posted looks like an extract from an Oracle listener log. It is not a valid sqlplus command line at all.

Maybe try using the search facility on this site to look for examples of Oracle sqlplus commands within unix shell. Don't forget to set the Oracle environment variables such as ${ORACLE_HOME}.

In this context if you can type the commands at a command prompt they can be turned into a unix shell script.