Conditional Forwarding using BIND9

Hello,

I'm a noob when it comes to DNS and BIND9, so forgive me if my description seems pedantic:

I connect to my workplace's network using VPN, which sets me up with the workplace DNS servers. Those servers manage the an internal namespace (visible only to users inside the VPN), with a specific domain name -- lets call it internal.net. Those servers also resolve queries to external addresses (e.g. Google) by forwarding them to some external DNS masters.

Without connecting to the VPN, my DNS lookups are performed via the router (192.168.0.1) which forwards to the ISP DNS server. What I would like to do is do is:

• all lookups that don't belong to internal.net should be performed on my ISP's DNS server
  • all lookups belonging to internal.net are done on the VPN DNS servers

I was able to do this in the past with simply having the /etc/resolv.conf look like:

nameserver 192.168.0.1
search internal.net
nameserver 10.0.0.1 <== the addr of the VPN DNS

But the problem is that my ISP recently introduced the annoying DNS redirection "service" where they redirect all unresolved DNS queries to an ad-laden search page, so if I do a lookup on somehost.internal.net, my ISP's DNS will resolve it to their own search page, preventing the use of nameserver 10.0.0.1.

So I figured I could solve this problem by having a local BIND9 instance on my machine that does conditional forwarding based on domain name. The problem is BIND9 configuration seems intimidating and my trials with it have been unsuccessful. Can someone suggest to me a simple BIND9 configuration that achieves my goals?'

Thanks!
Neked

Ooooh, that blows.

I agree you can solve this using BIND9. There is a simple one for such cases, but it's been years. But first, why can't you reverse the order so that the "local" nameserver is searched first?