Conditional execution

Hi All,

I want to echo a message in case a system is reachable by ping or echo a different message in case it's not reachable.

Sample code i wrote is

ping localhost -n 2 | grep 'ttl' > ping_op; ls ping_op > /dev/null && drReachable=Alive; echo -e `date`: \\t "DR server is reachable" >> dr_check.log

i thought if the grep command finds ttl only then it will create a file but it does not seem like that.

How can i achieve conditional execution for the same

i thought i will o/p the command to a file and do a line count but it is fine for hpux but it doesn't work for solaris, which outputs a single line, not reachable or alive.

I'm new to this stuff. maybe there are better approaches :frowning:

You don't need to grep as the ping command returns an error status when target is unreachable.

ping localhost -n 2 && { drReachable=Alive; echo -e "$(date): \\t DR server is reachable" >> dr_check.log; }

Whithout brackets, the command after the last semicolon would run in any case.

1 Like

&& will only check if the last exit code was true/0 and checking if redirecting to a ls to a file was successful is not helpful.
Afaik you can't implement a "else" conditions by this.

Example:

VAR=somehost
ping -c3 $VAR > /dev/null 2>&1
if [ $? != 0 ]; then
     echo "`date` -- Host $VAR can't be reached!"
else
     echo "`date` -- Host "$VAR is reachable."
fi

If you write something like ping/network monitoring script (maybe run via cron?), I suggest you leave out the ok message since this would produce tons of useless output. In this case you do not need a else-condition and could do something like

#!/bin/bash

VAR=somehost
LOG=somelogfile

ping -c3 $VAR > /dev/null 2>&1 || echo `date` '-- Host $VAR cant be reached!' >> $LOG

exit 0

I also recommend in this case, using something like a lock-file that is being touched in the beginning and deleted in the end of the script to ensure that this script does not run multiple instances in parallel.

1 Like