Concatenate two columns in a file

Hi

i am having one requirement like to concatenate two columns in to one columns, can any one help on this please sample scenario i am placing below

COL1,COL2,COL3,COL4
1,A,B,C,D
2,e,f,g,h

ouput should be 3 columns like below.

COL1,COL2,newcolumns 
1,A,B,CD
2,e,f,gh

Thanks in advance.

One way:

awk -F, '{$4=$4 $5;NF=4}1' OFS=, file

sorry it's not working

its just displaying the file content as output

awk -F, '{$4=$4 $5;NF=4}1' OFS=, /home/dsadm/rpt/dstempdir/SCRIPT_SEQ_LOG/test.txt

Hello,

Here is one more solution for same.

awk -F, '{$NF=$(NF-1) $NF}; {a=NF} {for(i=1;i<=NF;i++){if(i%a==0){ORS="\n"; print $i}  else {ORS=","; print $i}}}' OFS=","  filename

output will be as follows.

COL1,COL2,COL3,COL3COL4
1,A,B,C,CD
2,e,f,g,gh

Thanks,
R. Singh

thanks Singh...

but i dont want to display the COL3 and COL4 values. i Just want to display the new concatenated column only

I am not an expert in unix to tell the most effective way to get your result. But hope this will help you as a temporary fix. Try the below code

awk -F, '{print $1","$2","$3","$4$5}' <filename>

I have tried in my unix box and have got the below output which is same as you mentioned

Col1,Col2,Col3,Col4
1,A,B,CD
2,e,f,gh
1 Like

Hello Bhaskar,
This is what you need??

$ cat file3
COL1,COL2,COL3,COL4,COL5
1,A,B,C,D
2,e,f,g,h
$ cat file3 | awk -F "," '{out=$1; for(i=2;i<=NF-2;i++){out=out","$i}; print out","$(NF-1)$NF}'
COL1,COL2,COL3,COL4COL5
1,A,B,CD
2,e,f,gh

If you always want to join last two columns in your file then you can use above.

1 Like

Hello,

Could you please try the following for same.

awk -F, '{$(NF-1)=$(NF-1) $NF}; {a=(NF-1)} {if(NR==1){$(NF-1)="new column"}}  {if(NR==1){$NF="new column"}} {for(i=1;i<=(NF-1);i++){if(i%a==0){ORS="\n"; print $i}  else {ORS=","; print $i}}}' OFS="," filename

Output will be as follows.

COL1,COL2,new column
1,A,B,CD
2,e,f,gh

Thanks,
R. Singh