Compare output of UNIX command and match data to text file

I am working on an outage script and I run a command from the command line which tells me the amount of generator failures in my market. The output of this command only gives me three digits to identify the site by. I have a master list of all sites in a separate file, call it list.txt. If my command appends to file outagereport.txt, I want to use SED or something else to look at the output of that file and match it to the sites in the list.txt file and then modify the original file.

So, lets say that I run the following command:

TICLI "op:alarm,all" | {  printf "Austin Generators Running Alarms:\n" && grep GEN | grep RUN || printf "Austin Generator Alarms: Zero \n"; }>> AustinOutageReport.txt

and I get the following output:

Austin Generators Running Alarms:
     CELL 40 GENERATOR RUNNING

and my list.txt file has the following entry in it:
Sitename-market-0040-awesomesite

How can I get UNIX to look at list.txt and replace the text of cell for generator running with the text of list.txt that says Sitename-market-0040-awesomesite?

My thought was to use a sed substitute command for this but if I do that I will have a script with over 1800 sed substitutes.

how about using awk like this:

TICLI "op:alarm,all" | awk '
   FNR==NR {V[$3+0]=$0; next}
   /GEN/ && /RUN/ && ($3 in V) {
     if(!found) {
       print "Austin Generators Running Alarms:"
       found++
     }
     $2=V[$3]
     print
   }
   END { if(!found) print "Austin Generators Running Alarms: Zero" }' FS=- list.txt FS="\\\s+" -
1 Like

I tried the suggestion and I am still working with it to get the output I need. I don't think I understand enough what it's doing.

Might be better to step back, lay out the entire picture and create a detailed, accurate specification?

Yes, it would be good to step back at this point and do more research.

I solved this problem through using sed.