command timeout in ksh

I probably read all the threads in almost all the forums for a solution to my need. I am a beginner in shell scripting and I dont have a perfect solution yet. Below is my code snippet.

idql -n $REPOSITORY_NAME.$cs -Udmadmin -P"" -R$DM_SCRIPTS/test.api > /dev/null 2>&1 
    if [ $? != 0 ]; then 
      echo "   \c" 
      echo "ERROR: Cannot connect to: $REPOSITORY_NAME.$cs on $HOST" 
    else 
      echo "   Successfully connected to: $REPOSITORY_NAME.$cs" 
    fi 

This is from the main logic that we use for monitoring our service. But we often see our service getting hung and so the first line of the above snippet gets hung and it doesnt proceed after that. Due to this we are not able to catch this 'service hung' condition.

Most importantly we have to retain the checks for the existing conditions (specified in the if-else conditional statements) and additionally we have to be checking for the 'hung' state. If the idql command takes more than 5 seconds, we can assume that it is hung.

Could you please help me achieve this.

i dont know idql but many connectivity tools such as ssh, scp and others have timeout option in them which can be use as a leverage. can you try

idql --help

Thanks for your reply.

idql --help
syntax: idql<docbase> [-U<user>] [-D<domain>] [-P<password>] [-K<secure flag>] [ -R<input file>] [-n] [-l<error level>] [-X] [-z] [-w<display width>]

There is no in-built timeout option. We have to manually timeout the command after say 5 seconds.

i dont know any other method but this probably is worth a try. If your script is named test.sh run it like below, sleep 10 is 10 seconds after the script started, after that it will be killed. Once its killed you can be sure it timedout. lets see if other folks have more idea.

-bash-3.2$ ./test.sh & sleep 10 ;pkill test.sh
[2] 26221
[2]+  Terminated              ./test.sh
-bash-3.2$

Thanks ryandegreat25.