Checking a file on a remote windows server

Hi Everyone!

This is what I need to do...
I am deploying some directories over to a windows server 2000/3 box from my solaris10 box and I need to make sure the directories exist.

The only form of connection I have to work with is SSH
Currently, my script deploys the directories over to the windows box using SCP. After each scp command I want to verify the existing directories on the windows box

I am still new to this and I am having a hard time wrapping my head around this...

when I ssh into the windows box I only have windows commands to work with

Is there another way to do this?

the only way I could think of was to

1) scp the directories
2) scp a batch file which checks for the existance of the directory and output exist or notexist to a txt
3) send the output back to my solaris10 box
4) then use some commands on the solaris box to determine if the txt exist (exit=0) or notexist(exit=1)

I was hoping one of you could enlighten me and throw out some thoughts on how to go about this..

thank you so much

Erin

Not familiar with behaviour of sshd on Windows but one can run a command on a remote host thus:
$ ssh host command

So you might be able to run "dir" on your Windows machine from your Solaris box like this:
$ ssh windowsmachine dir > resultfile 2>&1

and then grep the resultfile for the directory you are looking for and if you are lucky then you may get the string <DIR> (DOS style dir result) on each line that is a directory also!

Thanks for the reply

I just tried:

ssh user@windowsbox dir

but it gives me dir not found

I can ssh user@windowsbox then use the command dir but not using that syntax..

any other ideas?
there must be a way to do this

I can't ssh directly into a specific directory of a host right?

like ssh machinename:/export/home

that doesn't seem to work

Any help would greatly appreciated... I'm going to browse the net some more and play around with this...

Thanks!