Change Expired root Password

Hello everybody, hope you all are having a good day.

Here is our (my) situation...

We have a process where we clone Solaris 8 hard disk drives then have to configure each drive for the system they will be used in. In the old cloning image the root password never expired. We also have techs doing this and it works fine.

Now, the customer has added tighter security requirements which sets the root password to expire after specified amount of days. So, if it has been longer than the specified days since the capture of the image the techs will be required to change the root password.

In an old procedure on how to do this they would:

1. Shutdown the system
  2. When shut down enter the command boot -s at the OK prompt
  3. Then it says: after the reboot at the # enter passwd root

Problem is, when trying to boot into single user mode it asks for the root password for maintenance or control-d to skip. I'm a newbie when it comes to UNIX administration (since I have always been a user and it has been 20 years) and was wondering if I was missing anything.

When doing research on the interwebs I have found about booting from a CD-ROM then editing the shadow file. I don't think the techs will be able to do this since they are not UNIX users.

Any help and any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

Have a Great Day all and Thanks.

Try ctrl-D to skip. If it gets you into a shell at all, you're there. You may need to do some manual mounting and/or remounting before you can actually alter the shadow files though, since / will probably still be mounted read-only at this point.

1 Like

Thanks for responding Corona, the control-d does get to a shell. Can they (the techs) enter the command:

# passwd root

allow them to reset the expired password?

Thanks again.