career as a unix admin and new graduate

Hello all,

Im about to graduate with a degree in computer science. I think i've found my 'niche' in unix and would like to take it up as a career. I hope you dont mind answering a few questions.

How hard is it to get the foot in the door?

Whats the best way to get the foot in the door?

Assuming i started learning unix a few weeks ago, How long does it take to get proficient enough to do entry-level work proficiently.( i know this is relative but roughly speaking give an estimate)

thanks for the advice, I this might be in the wrong section but since this is the advaced and expert users forum I thought what better place to ask.

what do u mean by "entry level"? getting ur foot in the door... if your university has job placement help, thats the first place i would go for some help. talk to your university and see what they can do for you.

All i see - bar one or two- are job ads for mid-senior unix adminstrators. how does someone with no experience in the field gets into it when everyone is looking for guys with 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 years of working knowledge . I would like it for some of you to share you story so that i may draw from it. if its not too much to ask.

your best bet is to start in mor eof a midlevel unix support role, which would give you on paper experience working with unix and an easy path to becomming a unix admin.

Now the question that I would like to know is how much should a unix admin expect to make. on average...

Check this site for your question regarding salary.

It depends on a number of things, such as geographical location, unix distribution you know, etc.
A lot of the ads you see are frequently written by hiring managers/recruiters, so it isn't necessarily that an ad accurately describes a job.
Most of the people I know in the field started as either support desk or NOC - I started in a NOC myself . Usually, the knowledge level of the support desk or NOC doesn't go beyond that of a regular user.