cant mount cd rom in damm small linux

hey guys im rather new to linux, im runnin damm small linux on an old HP.

my problem is I cant mount the cd rom drive. when I try and mount I get the mount point is being used by another directory, i tried editing the fstab file. but that didnt work. any help would be greatly appreciated.

A few things....

What command are you using to mount the CD-ROM?

Try "mount" without options, is the CD-ROM mounted, if so, unmount it....

Run lsof or fuser against the mountpoint - is anything using it?

If it still complains, umount -f /dev/whatever - see if that forces it to unmount.

And Damn Small Linux, are you running that from a CD? If so, have you removed the CD without unmounting? It shouldn't let you open the drive, but anyway....

What line is currently in /etc/fstab for the CD drive - and what was there before you made the edit?

A few things to try.... please let us know....

Cheers
ZB

hey, I tried just using the mount command, and I got a list of all the possible commands for mount, but it didnt list that the cd rom was mounted. then I tried editing my fstab file. this is what my fstab file looked like before I changed it.

/dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto users,noauto,exec,ro 0 0

i tried changing the mount point to / cdrom instead of /mnt/cdrom

it kept giving me errors like cannot find /mtn/cdrom in fstab or mtab.

I know my cd rom works, cause I did a HD install from an install CD and it worked fine. Ive never been able to use my cdrom all the other drives work and mount nust fine. I was even able to mount my USB drive, all except the cdrom
so yeah Im running DSL off of my hard drive.

what do you think?

thanks alot you guys have been very helpful

format

Try this at the command prompt:

mkdir /cdrom

if it says it already exists, don't worry... put a CD in the drive, then....

mount -t iso9660 -o ro /dev/cdrom /cdrom

See if that works.

Cheers
ZB