Can anybody learn how to code?

Hey Everyone,

Apologies on the vague title, but it is at the core of my question - let me first elaborate a little bit here.

Just to give a brief background on myself - I have been working in the IT industry for around 4 years now. I first started working straight from college (where I did average at best as I really did not much enthusiasm at all at the time) at the age of 18. I began working on a mainframe system, picking up the basic bits and pieces and eventually worked my way over to the UNIX side. Prior to my experience at work, I had always been a bit of a geek (mostly computer games) - but in terms of technical stuff, all I had experience in was dabbling with a bit of HTML for fun.

In the past few years I have become really interested with coding, such a shell scripting, awk etc. (currently learning perl). I am seriously considering a career path down the coding route in the future. I wouldn't consider myself highly intelligent, but I do okay and believe I manage to pick things up quite well. What I have found since beginning my 'coding journey' is that there seems to be quite a distinct leap between your average shell script, some regexp and if statements here and there, which seem to be quite linear concepts, and your much more abstract codes and programs (for loops within for loops, multi-dimensional arrays, algorithms etc.).

My main question is, does one have to possess an inherently high intelligence level to move onto the next level with coding and grasp these types of 'abstract coding' concepts? Or can they be learned with enough determination? I definitely have the eagerness to learn, but I don't want feel like I'm going down a route where I may hit a wall (i.e. Grasp certain concepts) and not be able to progress.

Sorry if my question is poorly worded, I hope some people might be able to relate to this and offer some advice :).

Thanks all.
pilnet101