Calling scripts from with scripts

Hi all, I'm wondering if you could give me some advice. I am new to scripting and am getting rather frustrated that i can get my script to call another script if certain criteria is met, via command line, but I cannot get the same script to work thru the cron jobs.

My first script monitors diskspace, and if disk space hits x% free then it calls another script with runs an autoarchive program.

#!/bin/ksh
# Define the hostname of the server
SRVNM=`uname -n`
while read -r FS MAXCAP
do
CAPACITY=`df -h $FS | grep -v avail | awk {'print $5'} | awk -F% {'print $1'}`
echo $CAPACITY
echo $MAXCAP
echo $FS
if test $CAPACITY -gt $MAXCAP; then
./archive.sh&
EOF
fi
done < $ADMINDIR/SIDlog.dat
exit 0
EOF

the archive.sh script is

#!/bin/ksh
# The directory this script resides in
ADMINDIR=/usr/local/bin
nohup brarchive -c force -u uname/pwd -p /oracle/SID/102_64/dbs/init.sap -save_delete -d util_file -r /oracle/SID/102_64/dbs/init.utl -k no -l E
exit 0

can anyone help please???
thanks in advance
Alison

/full/path/to /archive.sh &

You should add

wait

as the last line of your script - it will wait for the child processes you are creating. Otherwise those processes will be terminated.

What sets the ADMINDIR variable for the first script?
If this is setup in your .profile, .kshrc or /etc/profile it won't be setup when running script via cron.

You are best to set this value at the top of the script:

#!/bin/ksh
SRVNM=`uname -n`
ADMINDIR=/usr/local/bin
while read -r FS MAXCAP

@Jim, thanks for the info, having the full path to the script helped, also adding wait at the end of the script seems to allow the archive.sh script to run (I have a line at the end of both scripts that logs when the script was last run.
echo log space monitoring script, logmon.sh ran on `date` >>/usr/local/bin/archive.log