C Shell Scripting

I am new to Linux and have just started performing Gaussian calculations for a new department created at my work.
I am interested in creating some small scripts to complete some of the routine tasks.
I have created a file based on an old BASH file but it is having issues.

#!/bin/csh
name=$(1%.*)
formchk "%1" "%name.fchk"

This is a test script to test if I could script and it failed misserably.
I am trying to take a file "filename.chk" and run a formchk function that would create a new file "filename.fchk"
formchk is a function of gaussian that required a *.chk input and a named output file. i am trying to make this file univeral for all filenames that would be submitted to it. If this works I will add additional maniputation as needed.
I ran "chmod +x" on the script and executed with "./"
The error i received was "invaid varialbles"

any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!!

Hi, is there a reason you are using csh? Most people on this forum -me included- would suggest you save yourself a headache and switch to a bourne shell derivative, like sh, ksh, bash..
http://www.faqs.org/faqs/unix-faq/shell/csh-whynot

More reading, as long as you have a choice: Csh Programming Considered Harmful

P.S. I re-read your OP and saw you based this on a bash script. I would suggest you continue to use bash as syntax will most likely be different with csh anyway so if you are following a bash example
I would expect you'll have fewer porting issues sticking with bash.

Thanks for the info, I will read up on csh.
I do not have BASH on this machine, or have not located it.
I am very new to scripting (this is my first script), i understand that syntax will be differrence the difference shells, does anyone have a suggestion on how to complete the task mentioned on the first post?
If bourne is on all machines then I am definately okay with using bourne, but I don't know where to start.
Thanks again.