building output file from multiple input files

Hi there,

I am trying to figure out a way to combine multiple sources with different data on a single file, and I am trying to find the best way to do it.

I have multiple files, let's say A, B, C and D. A has a field in common with B, B has a field in common with C, and C has a field in common with D.

I want the output file to have all records from file A, and to pull the fields from the other sources, for example

file A

file B (field 1 is common to A field 1)
1 10
2 20
3 30
4 40

file C (field 1 is common to B field 2)
10 abc
20 def
30 ghi
40 jkl

file D (field 1 is common to C field 2)
abc Cat
def Bird
ghi Dog
xyz Fish

The desired output file would contain

2 20 def Bird
3 30 ghi Dog

As I am new to this, I was first thing about running a mix of nested while read's and greps and echoing the output to a file. Is there any cleaner way to do this? Each file can be really big, and I think nesting while read's can make it slow.

Any tips will be highly appreciated! :slight_smile:

It's complicated to do this in one awk command with many arrays, it's more clarifying to split this in more steps:

awk 'NR==FNR{a[$1];next}
$1 in a
' fileA fileB > temp

awk 'NR==FNR{a[$2]=$0;next}
$1 in a {print a[$1], $2}
' temp fileC > temp1

awk 'NR==FNR{a[$3]=$0;next}
$1 in a {print a[$1], $2}
' temp1 fileD

rm temp temp1

Thank you for your idea! Really it is not necessary to be a one-liner... just need something simple.

So far I was trying something like this:

while read field1; do
    B2='cat fileB | nawk -v fi=$field1 '{ if ( $1 == fi ) print $2 }''
    C2='cat fileC | nawk -v fi=$B2 ' { if ( $2 == fi ) print $1 }''
    D2='cat fileD | nawk -v fi=$C2 ' { if ( $2 == fi ) print $1 }''
    echo "$field1 $B2 $C2 $D2" >> output
done < fileA

(may not be actual commands, typing from memory)